Slackline Saturday

Ah, Sunday comes approaching me so fast again. Yesterday, I promised my senior at Uni, Aruka, to hang around at 3pm. Since I should attend my other friend graduation, I told him I’d be late. After I’ve finished the graduation party, I rushed to meet Aruka, in Gadjah Mada University. There, I found him playing slackline between the trees. I rushed to him, greet him, hug him, and then he said “Let’s play!”.

Slacklining_outside_in_the_park

 

(It’s not Aruka nor Husni, I found the pic from google. I’ll replace it after I put on some Aruka’s pic in my laptop.)

Slacklining is a practice in balance that typically uses nylon or polyester webbing tensioned between two anchor points. Many people suggest slacklining is distinct from tightrope walking in that the line is not held rigidly taut (although it is still under some tension); it is instead dynamic, stretching and bouncing like a long and narrow trampoline. The line’s tension can be adjusted to suit the user and different types of webbing can be used to achieve a variety of feats. The line itself is usually flat, due to the nature of webbing, thus keeping one’s footing from rolling as would be the case with an ordinary rope. The dynamic nature of the line allows for tricks and stunts. (from Wikipedia )

At first, it looks like a bunch of people (not in the same time or in the same line, of course) walking across a rope, set up between two trees but upon closer inspection, I finally realized that there is actually loads of talent required to make the sport look so effortless. After five minutes, I surrendered. It’s exhausting, I can’t move forward without hanging on the tree branch, and Aruka kept yelling to me to do it 100 times. I kept falling, not on my butt, but on my feet, that’s why my feet hurt badly. And then, when Aruka is done practicing his tricks, he introduced me to his friend, Becca. She is from America, she’s teaching English in Indonesia, Yogyakarta, to be exact. Becca is so awesome, she can walk like goddess, slow and full of balance. Aruka said that, no need to little yourself, she has practiced like one and a half year, I just started. So I should practiced or playing it again and again and again and again.

An hour and half has passed but I still couldn’t move my hand from tree branch. I have to hold it so that I could be steady. Aruka was mad and said “That’s just your suggestion. Don’t be a spoiled girl by hanging on tree branch. Man, you are a psychology student, used it, applied it.”. But still, maybe because I keep saying “but”. At first, I thought I will just looking at Aruka and his friends doing slack-line, but I was curious and tried it, then became a bully object for him and his friends, Becca and Husni. They tortured me! Man… I wasn’t expected that playing slack-line would be so exhausting and making me full of sweat. In the end of the day I could move four steps without hanging on tree branch. Yay me!

And now….. My body felt so much pain. It hurts everywhere. Just like I was crushed to pieces. Thank God I could still write. Yeah, my body is still not used to it. But then again, practice make perfect, doesn’t it? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Slackline Saturday

Leave a Reply

