World Mental Health Day 2012

Hey. Back again 😉 Hope you’re not bored yet reading my writing. And I thought this one would be soooooo long. Longer than the friends post.

Anyway, I just noticed that today is the World Mental Health Day, October 10th. Some of you might be wondering, what is WMHD? World Mental Health Day  is a day for global mental health education, awareness and advocacy. It was first celebrated in 1992 at the initiative of the World Federation for Mental Health, a global mental health organization with members and contacts in more than 150 countries. World Mental Health Day raises public awareness about mental health issues. The day promotes open discussion of mental disorders, and investments in prevention, promotion and treatment services. This year the theme for the day is “Depression: A Global Crisis”.

Globally, more than 350 millions people suffered from depression , a mental disorders which impede someone to act normally according to the moral people wrote. Some of them didn’t recognize that they had depression because of high of the stigma towards to sufferers of depression. Depression isn’t the same as mood fluctuation. Depression comes from complex interactions from some factors such as social, psychology, and biology. Severe depression can make someone to think of suicide and do it. The sufferers feels a long non-stop sadness in their life. Depression removes someone ability to act normal at home, school or in the office. Sufferers of depression needs an effective therapy, such as psycho-social therapy and medicines. Cultures and lack of knowledge about mental health is one of the restricting factors of early treatment for mental health, including depression.

Depression is life-altering. It’s waking up every single day and knowing you have a battle on your hands for the next 24 hours. It’s one step at a time, one hour to the next, clawing for a little bit of light all the way. It destroys your energy, eats your happiness and joy and spits it back in your face. It’s fighting for your life when your own head doesn’t want you to succeed. Could you fight every day and never give in? Could you hate yourself that much and still look in the mirror? How about working to find the joy in a moment because as soon as the moment is done the darkness is waiting for you?
People who live with depression aren’t crazy, they’re just surviving in a war zone. Don’t believe me? Have the facts from the ‘experts’.

Sometimes I wish people didn’t know this blog was mine. Why did I have to put it on twitter? Why do I even have all these pages? Why why why. I’m in one of those moods where I could write for hours about what’s going on. I’d rather do it under the cloak of anonymity. Maybe I should get a diary, but the rush of opening up to strangers is better. I don’t know. I feel like it’s the turn of our generation, connecting over the internet, over things like music and sadness and mutual obsession with obscure pieces of pop culture. I like reading long text posts, reading about how a person feels in that exact moment. Over sharing or not, I don’t care. Ramble on. If I know you personally and you’re reading this “oh here we go” well I don’t care. If you’re going to judge me based on a text post go right ahead.

Today is world mental health day. And surprisingly or not I’ve struggled with depression on and off for years, sometimes badly sometimes the day by day feeling of inadequacy. I even self harmed and wanted nothing more than to just end it all. Sometimes things trigger it, like the fact I haven’t finished my thesis because of my lecturer. Or fact that I want this so bad but I’m scared I’m not good enough to succeed and that anxiety makes me just want to quit while I’m ahead. I have some really great friends and I love them for it, I think I’d go even more bat shit crazy without them around. For sure I have had my share of positivity in 2012, I’ve had some great experiences and I’m very thankful for those. But (and there’s always a but) I seem to dwell on negativity, and that’s a fundamental character flaw ever present in my psyche. I miss my boyfriend and my childhood bestfriend, I miss having them here to tell me everything’s okay. I miss the creativity I used to possess. I used to sing and *try* to play guitar, I used to write poetry and create a different face for myself everyday with makeup. I feel like day in and day out is bland. I’m waiting for something to happen but I don’t know what. I know it gets better, this is just a bad phase I’ve been through before. But right now it’s mind numbing and writing has always been my best defense.  I don’t know how lucky I am, that may be true. But saying someone can’t be sad because others are worse off is like saying another can’t be happy because someone else has it better. I don’t want to think of the repercussions of this post, people will think I’m weirder than they already imagine, actually maybe no one will read it. This is an in the moment thing. I just wanted/needed to share my feelings. I’ve already said, writing is my form of therapy. So there you go. Go ahead and look at my tumblr. And you’ll know.

There is never, ever a reason to hide.We need to look at what it is that makes us say we’re fine when we’re not, tell our friends we can’t make it and let the phone ring off to avoid the questions. What’s so bad about saying “I feel really, really shit.” And if it is the inevitable shame or the guilt or the not wanting to be a burden – nobody likes a moaner – then we need to ask ourselves we should attach such strong, destructive feelings to something that so many of us experience at some time, if not every day. There is no reason to be ashamed.

It is not taboo. chances are you know somebody who has suffered, or is suffering from a mental disorder. support them, you honestly do not know the difference you could make to someone’s day, week or even life simply by being there. It is not taboo. 

Remember this please, NEVER EVER USE MENTAL HEALTH AS A MOCK  OR GIVE LABEL TO SOMEBODY. IT HURTS. Make sure you check on people, all it takes in a question. Don’t just assume someone is okay, because they are smiling and laughing. Get to know them, look out for the signs, and don’t judge them because of their mental illness. And ask them, are you okay? Because that question, could save a life. For one day, instead of promoting stigmas, stereotypes, and ignorance—instead of making the problem worse—take a few minutes to educate yourself. Don’t let a smile deceive you!

Well, see? I really hope it doesn’t make you bored. It means everything for me. For everyone who suffers. It means a lot 🙂

Another brilliant thought

-A-

Leave a Reply

